Dahomey Upper Volta Urundi German Kamerun; divided into British and French mandates, 1920. Congo (Belgian)

Middle Congo (French) French Somaliland Rio Muni, Fernando Po etc. Abyssinia Gold Coast Portuguese Guinea British Guyana (Differs only in pronunciation) Gilbert Islands Basutoland Madagascar Nyasaland Soudan (French) Caroline Islands (Spanish 1866, German 1899, Japanese mandate 1921, USA mandate 1947, fully independent, 1991) (German) South West Mrica Niger Territory (French) Part of India. 1947 included East and West Pakistan; 1971 East Pakistan became Bangladesh.