This book details the results of research in an area within what is today the Eastern province of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (see Map 4). The Eastern Province is one of the six administrative divisions of the Kingdom, which claims over two-thirds of the area known as the Arabian Peninsula. It occupies the coastal area and extends to the interior of the part of the Arabian Gulf stretching south from the United Arab Emirates and north to the Kuwait border, excluding Qatar.