Hawaii is a group of 20 islands in the northern Pacific Ocean. The islands are tops of mountains that became volcanoes. There are nine inhabited islands. The ~ main islands are Hawaii, Maui, Molokai,

~ .".. Oahu, and Kauai. Hawaii became our 50th state in 1959. Its capital is Honolulu on

the island of Oahu. It has a mild humid climate with temperatures around 75 degrees year round and frequent rain and sunshine.