Tucker divides the Nilotic languages into' two groups: the Dinka group, consisting of the Nuer and Dinka dialects, and the Luo group, consisting of the remaining Nilotic tribai groups. The Luo language group has previously been known as the Shilluk-speaking group, but recent research by Tucker and information supplied by Crazzolara and other investigators indicate that the term Luo, or Lwo, is more appropriate.(3) The name is used by many tribes and is acknowledged by them as the original tribai name.