The official language is Spanish, spoken by 96% of the population. 24 other, mainly Indian languages are also spoken. The most widespread are: Mapudungun (40 000 speakers in the provinces of Neuquen, Rio Negro, Chubut, Buenos Aires and La Pampa); South Bolivian Quecha (850 000 speakers along the border with Bolivia and in Buenos Aires) and Santiago del Estero Quichua (75 000 speakers in Santiago del Estero province).