The Railway Clearing House, or as often called in abbreviated form, the R.C.H., was established in 1842, nine railways being parties to its foundation. In 1850 the Railway Clearing Act gave it a definite legal status, enabling it to sue a debtor company in its own name. Government recognition was again extended to it in 1897 when it was re-incorporated.