Three research organizations developed survey research as an instrument and organization of university science: the Bureau of Applied Social Research at Columbia University (often called "The Bureau"), the National Opinion Research Center (NaRC), originally at Denver and later at Chicago, and the Survey Research Center (SRC) at the University of Michigan. The Bureau was not designed specifically as a "survey" organization (as the other two were), but Lazarsfeld and others there concentrated on survey work and gave the instrument new power. All three organizations originated in some part outside the university and then moved onto the edges of an academic community, setting up a small colony of empirical researchers.