Known for more than two thousand years by merchants sailing from Arabia, Kenya is located on the Indian Ocean in eastern Africa between Tanzania to the south and Somalia and Ethiopia to the east and north. To the west the country is bordered by Sudan and Uganda, the latter with historical and cultural connections to Kenya. Covering an area of 582,700 square kilometres (225,000 square miles), the country is slightly larger than France. Kenya had a population estimated at 28.2 million in 1994. Swahili is the country's official language, with English used widely for administrative purposes.