Under the Constitution of 1979, legislative power is vested in the unicameral Maneaba ni Maungatabu (House of Assembly). It has 44 members elected by universal adult suffrage for four years (subject to dissolution), one nominated representative of the Banaban community and, if he/she is not an elected member, the Attorney-General as an ex officio member. The head of state is the Beretitenti (President), who is also head of government. The President is elected by direct popular vote. The President governs with the assistance of the Vice-President and Cabinet, whom he or she appoints from among members of the Maneaba. Executive authority is vested in the Cabinet, which is responsible to the Maneaba.