China is a unitary state. Directly under the Central Government there are 22 provinces, five autonomous regions (Guangxi, Inner Mongolia—Nei Monggol, Ningxia, Xinjiang and Tibet—Xizang), and four municipalities (Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai and Tianjin). The highest organ of state power is the National People's Congress (NPC), which is indirectly elected for five years by the people's congresses of the provinces, autonomous regions, municipalities directly under the Central Government, and the People's Liberation Army. The NPC elects a Standing Committee to be its permanent organ. The current Constitution, adopted by the NPC in December 1982 and subsequently amended, is China's fourth since 1949. It restored the office of head of state (President of the Republic). Executive power is exercised by the State Council (cabinet), comprising the Premier, Vice-Premiers and other ministers heading ministries and commissions. The State Council is appointed by, and accountable to, the NPC. In March 2018 the 13th NPC approved a constitutional amendment which removed the existing two-term limit on the presidential term.