The Federation of Saint Kitts (Christopher) and Nevis is a constitutional monarchy. Executive power is vested in the British monarch, as head of state, and is exercised locally by the monarch's personal representative, the Governor-General, who acts in accordance with the advice of the Cabinet. Legislative power is vested in Parliament, comprising the monarch and the National Assembly. The National Assembly is composed of the Speaker, three (or, if a nominated member is Attorney-General, four) nominated members, known as Senators (two appointed on the advice of the Premier and one appointed on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition), and 11 elected members (Representatives), who are chosen from singlemember constituencies for up to five years by universal adult suffrage.