In 2008 the President ratified a new 301-article Constitution, which replaced the 1998 Constitution and introduced a directly elected presidency and a democratic system of multi-party legislative elections. Legislative authority is vested in the People's Majlis. The People's Majlis consists of 87 members elected from Malé, Addu City and the 19 administrative atolls for five years by universal adult suffrage. Executive power is vested in the President, who is elected directly by the people, with more than 50% of the vote, for a period of five years. The President (who is not permitted to serve for more than two terms) governs with the assistance of an appointed Cabinet of Ministers (including a Vice-President, who is nominated by the President), which is responsible to the People's Majlis.