Under the terms of the Constitution that was approved in a national referendum on 25 October 1992, supreme legislative authority resides with the Seimas (Parliament), which has 141 members, elected by universal adult suffrage for a four-year term (71 deputies are direcdy elected by majority vote, with 70 being elected from party lists on the basis of proportional representation). The President of the Republic (who is head of state) is elected by direct popular vote for a period of five years (and a maximum of two consecutive terms). Executive power is vested in the Council of Ministers, headed by the Prime Minister, who is appointed by the President with the approval of the Parliament. Judicial power is exercised by the Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and district and local courts.