382 The Indian Independence Act of 1947 passed by the British Parliament, creating the two dominions of India and Pakistan, stipulated that “an Indian State shall be deemed to have acceded to the Dominion if the Governor-General has signified his acceptance of the Instrument of Accession executed by the Ruler thereof.” (pages 394–95)