As a result of the Russo-Japanese War, Japan succeeded in obtaining recognition from the great powers of its controlling position in the Korean Peninsula. America, Britain, and Russia all recognized Japan’s position: America in the July 1905 Taft-Katsura Agreement, Britain in their renewal of the Anglo-Japanese Alliance in August, and Russia in the Treaty of Portsmouth in September.