By the Treaty of Peace, which was signed at Paris on February 10th, 1763, Great Britain gained possession of the whole of North America situated east of the Mississippi River, with the exception of the town of New Orleans and the neighbouring district. She thus retained the original thirteen states, and added to her dominions the territory of Canada with all its dependencies and the island of Cape Breton.