The Bayano region is located in the Southeastern section of the Province of Panama. It is the western portion of the tropical forest zone known as the Darién which comprises both Eastern Panama (Provinces of Panama and Darién) and Colombia's Department of Chocó The Bayano region is delimited as between the low mountain ranges of Maj6énd San Bias to the West and East, the town of Pacora to the North, and the Cafiñas River to the South. These markers do not correspond to the political divisions (which of course have fluctuated over time), but describe the area of influence of the hydroelectric project