Together, these four institutions, whose powers are conferred upon them by the Community Treaties, carry out the functions of the legislature, executive and judiciary. They do not, however, fit into the classic ‘separation of powers’ mould. The most obvious example of this is the European Assembly-or Parliament as it has called itself since 1962 and as it is now termed by the single European Act-which has no legislative capacity in its own right, but which is primarily a consultative body.