The period 1880-98 encompasses the years of the European “Scramble” to divide up

Africa. At its conclusion, Liberia, Ethiopia, Northern Nigeria, Mauritania, Morocco

and Libya were the only parts of the continent still free of European domination, and

the last four areas would also fall into European hands in the course of the succeeding

decade. The gap between European military capabilities and those of indigenous armies,

in Africa and elsewhere, would never be greater than it was during this era.