In 1498, Christopher Columbus landed in Trinidad. Tobago was first inhabited in 1632 when a Dutch company sent some settlers. In 1802, Trinidad became a British colony and so did Tobago in 1814. Together, the two tropical islands formed a joint Crown colony in 1889. They were granted self-governance in 1956, got independence in 1962 and became a republic in 1976.