Sri Lanka (formerly known as Ceylon) is an island situated to the south of India with an area of 25,000 square miles (65,600 square kilometers). The population, which is around 18 million, consists of Sinhalese, Tamils, Muslims, and the descendants of Portuguese, Dutch, and British colonizers. The three main languages are Sinhala, Tamil, and English, and the literacy rate is about 92%. Most Sri Lankans are Buddhist. Hinduism, Christianity, and Islam are also practiced.