In 1997 in Kyoto, at the fourth ‘Conference of the Parties’, the industrialised countries, also known as the Annex B countries, made quantified commitments to reduce their national greenhouse gas emissions within the framework of the Kyoto Protocol. To honour their commitments, the signatory countries will set up national mechanisms for restrictions and incentives acting on the emitting agents.