Tomsk Oblast is situated in the south-east of the Western Siberian Plain. The Oblasts of Kemerovo and Novosibirsk lie to the south, Omsk Oblast to the south-west, the Khanty-Mansii Autonomous Okrug—Yugra (in Tyumen Oblast) to the north-west, and Krasnoyarsk Krai to the east. Almost all the Oblast’s territory is taiga (forested marshland). It occupies 314,391 sq km (121,387 sq miles). At January 2017 its estimated population was 1,078,891, and the population density 3.4 per sq km. Some 72.3% of the population lived in urban areas. The administrative centre, Tomsk, had a population of an estimated 572,740 in January 2017. The other major city is Seversk (with 107,922 inhabitants). Of those residents who stated their ethnicity at the 2010 census, 92.1% were Russian, 1.7% were Tatar and 1.1% were Ukrainian. Tomsk Oblast is in the time zone UTC+6.