The Republic of Tatarstan (Tatarstan) is situated in the east of European Russia. The Republic of Bashkortostan lies to the east, the Udmurt Republic to the north, the Republic of Marii-El to the north-west, and the Chuvash Republic to the west. Ulyanovsk, Samara and Orenburg Oblasts lie to the south, and Kirov Oblast to the north. The major rivers are the Volga and the Kama. Tatarstan occupies 67,847 sq km (26,196 sq miles). At January 2017 it had an estimated population of 3,885,253 and a population density of 57.3 per sq km. Some 76.6% of the population lived in urban areas. Tatarstan’s capital is Kazan, on the River Volga, with an estimated population of 1,231,878 in January 2017. Other major cities include Naberezhnye Chelny (529,797), Nizhnekamsk (237,250) and Almetyevsk (154,262). Of those residents who stated their ethnicity at the 2010 census, 53.2% were Tatars, 39.7% were Russians and 3.1% were Chuvash. The Republic is in the time zone UTC+3.