According to its Constitution, the Russian Federation is a democratic, federative, multi-ethnic state. The President is elected for a term of six years by universal direct suffrage, for no more than two consecutive terms. The President appoints the Chairman of the Government (Prime Minister), but the cabinet must be approved by the legislature. Supreme legislative power is vested in a bicameral Federal Assembly, comprising a directly elected State Duma and an appointed Federation Council.