The Australian legal system derives from the UK with relatively recent recognition of a place for Aboriginal customary law. Australia is a common law country and so the sources of law include both general (judge-made) law and statute. It is a federation with law-making power distributed between the Commonwealth (federal Parliament) and six states and two internal self-governing territories.1