Even if the first decades of the twentieth century saw some emblematic buildings being declared National Historic Monuments, it was only in 1940 that the law for their protection was passed (Ley No. 12/665). During the following years, several buildings from almost all provinces were classified, but more importance was always given to historical and symbolic issues than to architectural qualities. In 1984, political change saw the renewal of the National Commission of Museums, Monuments and Historic Places (Comisión Nacional de Museos, Monumentos y Lugares Históricos) and new concepts were promoted. This technically improved the declarations procedure and opened up a new approach, which also took previously ignored less ancient works and utilities into consideration, such as railway stations, bridges and private houses, among others. Today, there are around 400 buildings or sites on the national list.