Georgia (which refers to itself as the Sakartvelos Respublika) is the western-most of the three Transcaucasian republics of the former Soviet Union and the only one of the three fronting on the Black Sea. It includes, under Soviet classification, two autonomous republics, Abkhazia and Ajaria, and one autonomous region, South Ossetia (Figure 13.1).