This chapter examines the impact of British colonialism on the heritage tourism development of George Town, Penang, in the Malaysian northern region. Malaysia is situated geographically in the heart of Southeast Asia and is made up of eleven states in the Malay Peninsula and another two states in the northern part of Borneo Island. Malaysia (formerly known as Malaya) gained her independence from England in 1957. In 1963 the Federation of Malaysia was formed, consisting of the thirteen states and Singapore. However, due to political circumstances, Singapore became an independent nation in 1965. Malaysia now has a population of 23 million people, comprised of: Malays, 51 percent, Chinese, 35 percent, Indians, 10 percent, and other ethnic groups, 4 percent. The system of government in Malaysia is a constitutional democracy with a prime minister as the head of government and an elected Yang di-Pertuan Agong (king) as the supreme head of state.