The orbit is a pyramidal-shaped space with the apex situated posteriorly and the base anteriorly. It is madeup of seven bones which are grouped as follows:

Roof: Frontal bone and lesser wing of the sphenoid.

Lateral wall: Zygomatic bone and greater wing of the sphenoid.

Floor: Zygomatic, maxillary and palatine bones.

Medial wall: Maxillary, lacrimal, sphenoid and ethmoid bones. The lamina papyracea is a paper-thin plate which covers the ethmoidal cells and forms a part of the medial wall. It can act as a route of entry for infection from the ethmoid sinus.