Originally published in 1985. One of the most distinguished editors in the history of British journalism, J. L. Garvin created the Sunday newspaper as we now know it. His career at the Observer spanned the golden age of the British press when newspapers had a powerful influence on political affairs.

Like the other great editors of the first half of the twentieth century Garvin clashed with his proprietors. He liked to contrast ‘Responsible Editorship’ with ‘Austensible Editorship’ where the editor took his political orders from the owners. He passionately believed that the readers of any newspaper worth buying had a right to know what the editor himself thought about any important matter. This was the essence of an implied contract, the basis of trust between paper and the reader. It was Garvin’s energy and integrity which transformed the Observer into a major force in the British press so that long before his death most respectable middle class families would have hesitated to admit they had not seen the Observer.

This first substantial biography of Garvin of the Observer will be of interest to all students of modern political history and of the press in contemporary society.

part 1|170 pages

Jim Garvin Till Fifty, 1868-1918

part |30 pages

Book One: North Country Apprenticeship 1868-1899

chapter 1|5 pages

An Irish Boy On Merseyside, 1868-1884

chapter 2|4 pages

Tammany Teenager, 1884-1889

chapter 3|8 pages

Garvin Finds a Guru, 1889-1899

chapter 4|5 pages

Marriage 1894

chapter 5|6 pages

London Bound, 1893-1899

part |31 pages

Book Two: Empire Day in Fleet Street, 1899-1906

chapter 6|7 pages

His Master's Voice, 1899-1904

chapter 7|6 pages

What Calchas Foresaw, 1899-1902

chapter 8|3 pages

Indian Interlude, 1902-1903

chapter 9|5 pages

Chamberlain's Man, 1903-1904

chapter 10|8 pages

Garvin's Outlook, 1904-1906

part |44 pages

Book Three: The Northcliffe Years, 1907-1911

chapter 11|7 pages

Northcliffe's Partner, 1907-1911

chapter 12|5 pages

Greville Place, 1908-1922

chapter 13|8 pages

The Defence of Britain, 1908-1911

chapter 14|6 pages

The Lords and the Budget, 1909

chapter 15|7 pages

A Truce of God, 1910

chapter 16|5 pages

The Battle Resumed, 1910

chapter 17|4 pages

Exit Northcliffe, 1910-1911

part |27 pages

Book Four: Garvin and the Astors, 1911-1914

chapter 18|8 pages

Enter the Astors, 1911

chapter 19|6 pages

Politics in No Man's Land, 1911

chapter 20|6 pages

Garvin's Tandem, 1912-1914

chapter 21|5 pages

The Covenanter, 1912-1914

part |34 pages

Book Five: The First World War, Father and Son, 1914-1918

chapter 22|8 pages

The Coming of War, 1914-1915

chapter 24|12 pages

De Profundis, 1916-1918

part 2|116 pages

‘Garve’, 1919-1947

part |42 pages

Book Six: A Second Spring, 1919-1927

chapter 25|6 pages

Peace and Dragon's Teeth, 1919

chapter 26|10 pages

The Second Mrs Garvin, 1919-1921

chapter 27|4 pages

The Coming of Barrington-Ward, 1919

chapter 28|8 pages

Garvin and Lloyd George, 1922

chapter 29|7 pages

Gregories, 1921-1947

chapter 30|5 pages

The Loss of Barrington-Ward, 1925-1927

part |25 pages

Book Seven: Appearance and Reality, 1929-1938

chapter 31|8 pages

High Water, 1929-1930

chapter 32|10 pages

The Tide Turns, 1928-1933

chapter 33|5 pages

The Chamberlain Torso, 1932-1938

part |46 pages

Book Eight. A Diversity of Dictators, 1933-1947

chapter 34|7 pages

Calchas Redivivus, 1933-1935

chapter 35|8 pages

The Mountains of Rasselas, 1935-1936

chapter 36|4 pages

Odd Dictator Out, 1936-1940

chapter 37|8 pages

‘The Nonesuch State’, 1936-1939

chapter 38|8 pages

Shipwreck, 1939-1942

chapter 39|9 pages

Afterglow, 1942-1947