Plotinus (c.205-70) was a Neoplatonist philosopher, his work posthumously published by Porphyry and divided into six books, nine tractates each, called the Enneads. In this book Majumdar makes a valuable addition to the literature on his work, especially Ennead III.7(45)11-13 - in particular explaining Plotinus' cosmology using the genus-species model of soul, coordinating the literature on the appearance of time and the cosmos with that on the larger issue of Plotinian "emanation" and examining the role of tolma and the restless nature of soul in this conjoint appearance. This book investigates Plotinian "emanation," its laws of poiesis (contemplative making ) and the roles of nature, matter, logos, (rational formative principle) and contemplation and highlights the subtler details of Plotinus' cosmology by disentangling conceptual issues about the nature of soul and self ("we") and their impact on the process of generation of time and the cosmos.

chapter 1|10 pages


part |2 pages

Part I The Hermeneutic Scene

chapter 2|14 pages

Truth, Method, and Originality

chapter 3|14 pages

Heritage and Legacy

part |2 pages

Part II The Architectonic Scene

chapter 4|18 pages

Edifice of Soul

chapter 5|16 pages

Levels of Self

chapter 6|20 pages

The Logic of Poiesis

chapter 7|18 pages

Demiurge, Nature, and Matter