Introducing the thought of philosopher and theologian Jean-Yves Lacoste, this book provides an overview spanning Lacoste's earliest works on sacramentality to his latest work Etre en Danger (2011) in which Lacoste opens up the liturgical experience onto a spiritual experience of life. Schrijvers unfolds the logic of what Lacoste calls 'the liturgical experience' from its violent variety in Expérience et Absolu to the logic of love and love's possibility as it is developed in the later works. Throughout the book, the focus is on Lacoste's dialogue with Heidegger and through this his attempt to widen the scope of phenomenology to include the phenomenality of the divine.

chapter |14 pages


chapter 1|22 pages

Phenomenology of Confession

chapter 2|20 pages

Phenomenology of the Body

chapter 3|19 pages

Phenomenology of Prayer

chapter 4|21 pages

Phenomenology of Conversion

chapter 5|18 pages

Phenomenology of the Fool

chapter 6|18 pages

The Fate of Non-experience

chapter 7|24 pages

The World and the Absence of Art