This title was first published in 2000:  Catalan-born composer Roberto Gerhard (1896-1970) left significant legacies - both musical and documentary. Exiled in Cambridge with the onset of the Spanish Civil War, he gradually achieved wide recognition by performers and conductors, in both Britain and America, as a composer whose music was essential to the modern repertoire. In this work, the author collects many of the composer's articles, reviews, lectures and broadcasts to demonstrate the full extent and continuity of Gerhard's artistic and creative thinking. The writings have been arranged thematically to emphasize the evolution of Gerhard's musical interests. His attachment to Spanish and Catalonian traditions broadened into a fascination with folk music of all kinds. His studies with Schoenberg in the mid 1920s gave him the key to his own creative individuality; thereafter, his imaginative vitality led him eventually to experiment with electronic and concrete music and he continued breaking new ground, even in his final years.

chapter |6 pages


part I|1 pages

Composer and Public

chapter 1|2 pages

Listening to music (1930) 1

chapter 2|6 pages

The composer and his audience (1960) 2

chapter 3|7 pages

Sound and symbol (1957) 3

part II|1 pages

Tradition and Innovation

chapter 6|2 pages

A note on Felipe Pedrell (c. 1940) 24

chapter 7|12 pages

New musical methods (1930)

chapter 8|4 pages

Music and poetry (1935) 45

part III|1 pages

Contemporary Composers 1929–1939

chapter 9|3 pages

Hanns Eisler 47

chapter 10|3 pages

Bartók 53

chapter 11|2 pages

Ildebrando Pizzetti 55

chapter 12|1 pages

Baltasa Samper 59

chapter 13|7 pages

Some Composers from Madrid 61

part IV|1 pages

Music and Drama

chapter 14|2 pages

Opera (1930) 74

chapter 15|2 pages

Music and film (1930) 76

chapter 16|7 pages

The Duenna (1949) 78

chapter 17|13 pages

Music and Ballet

part V|1 pages

New Horizons

chapter 18|11 pages

Schoenberg, twelve-note music and serialism

chapter 19|2 pages

On composition with twelve notes (1954) 95

chapter 20|13 pages

Tonality in twelve-tone music (1952) 98

chapter 22|3 pages

Alban Berg: obituary (1936) 115

chapter 23|6 pages


part VI|1 pages

Music in a Post-war Context

chapter 26|3 pages

England, spring 1945 129

chapter 28|9 pages

Sound observed (1965) 137

chapter 29|3 pages

The Plague (1964) 141

chapter 30|2 pages

Introduction to Symphony No.2 (1959) 147

chapter 32|5 pages

Art and anarchy (1961) 160

chapter 33|10 pages

The Muse and music today (1962) 176

chapter 34|8 pages

An inaugural lecture (1961) 182