This first full length, and long overdue, study of Kawabata, Japans first Nobel laureate for literature and the most widely known for his novels Snow Country (1960) and Sound of the Mountain (1970).

chapter |7 pages


chapter Chapter One|33 pages

An Orphan Psychology

chapter Chapter Two|27 pages

An Ambiguous Redemption

chapter Chapter Three|50 pages

Experiment and Expansion

chapter Chapter Four|22 pages

Between Tradition and Modernity

chapter Chapter Five|14 pages

Elegies for a Dying Tradition

chapter Chapter Six|38 pages

Time and Anti-Time

chapter Chapter Seven|27 pages

Narcissus in Winter