Originally published in 1962. A clear and simple account of the growth and structure of Mathematical Logic, no earlier knowledge of logic being required. After outlining the four lines of thought that have been its roots - the logic of Aristotle, the idea of all the parts of mathematics as systems to be designed on the same sort of plan as that used by Euclid and his Elements, and the discoveries in algebra and geometry in 1800-1860 - the book goes on to give some of the main ideas and theories of the chief writers on Mathematical Logic: De Morgan, Boole, Jevons, Pierce, Frege, Peano, Whitehead, Russell, Post, Hilbert and Goebel. Written to assist readers who require a general picture of current logic, it will also be a guide for those who will later be going more deeply into the expert details of this field.

chapter 1|3 pages

Purpose and Language of the Book

chapter 1|10 pages

Aristotle’s Syllogistic

chapter 5|3 pages

Consistency and Metamathematics

chapter 6|11 pages

Boole’s Algebra of Logic

chapter 8|7 pages

Frege’s Logic

chapter 9|7 pages

Cantor’s Arithmetic of Classes

chapter 10|4 pages

Peano’s Logic