First published in 1968, this reissue of Dr. Craik’s critical appreciation of the completed novels of Charlotte, Emily and Anne Brontë is seminal for the way in which it shifts emphasis away from the Brontë family biography towards a detailed critical analysis of the novels themselves.

Separate chapters are given to each of the seven novels. The author’s aims and techniques in each are assessed and Dr. Craik shows what light the books throw on each other, how they are related to the novels of the Brontë’s predecessors, and how the Brontë novels compare with their great contemporaries in the nineteenth century novel.

chapter |4 pages


chapter 1|43 pages

Wuthering Heights

chapter 2|22 pages

The Professor

chapter 3|53 pages

Jane Eyre

chapter 4|35 pages


chapter 5|44 pages


chapter 6|26 pages

Agnes Grey

chapter 7|26 pages

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall