First published in 1989. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

chapter |12 pages


part |3 pages

Part One Pemalingpa and his Hidden Treasures

chapter |5 pages

The Autobiography

chapter |10 pages


chapter |5 pages


chapter |6 pages

The Treasure of the Burning Lake

chapter |11 pages

The Treasure Hunt Continues

chapter |10 pages

Dreams and Trances of a Buddhist Shaman

chapter |16 pages

Enemies and Patrons

chapter |17 pages

The Later Years

chapter |15 pages

The Man, his Cult and Legacy

part |4 pages

Part Two The Sixth Dalai Lama and his Secret Lives

chapter |11 pages

Ancestry and Homeland

chapter |14 pages

From Rebirth to Recognition

chapter |13 pages

The Years of Waiting

chapter |18 pages

From Enthronement to Deposition and Death

chapter |14 pages

The Secret Life

chapter |15 pages

The Impersonator and his Fictions

chapter |19 pages

Amdo and Alashan